The David Law Firm is excited to announce the recipients of their juvenile diabetes scholarships this year: Crystal Bailey of Conway, South Carolina and Darec Longfellow of Graniteville, South Carolina. The David Law Firm will send $2,500 to Francis Marion University on behalf of Bailey and $2,500 to Clemson University on behalf of Longfellow.
A native of Horry County, Bailey founded the Cure for the Kids golf tournament. She was on the basketball, volleyball and softball team. Bailey was also in the debate club, placing third in the state. She was President of her student body, a camp counselor, drummer and guitarist in her church band, and on the yearbook staff. Her teachers felt she was a well-rounded student and a model citizen who displayed academic excellence, leadership and service. Bailey plans on studying nursing at Francis Marion University in the fall.
Heading to Clemson University in the fall, Longfellow plans to study biomedical engineering. He was a member of the National Honor Society and a youth mentor, tutoring underprivileged children. Longfellow was also a part of an audition only chorale group, the lead actor in four productions with the drama club, and was Senior Vice President of the student government. He played football and was a member of the track team. His teachers felt Longfellow was respected by the staff and his peers, never gave up and continually challenges himself.
The Davids’ Diabetes Scholarships were created to recognize students who are actively involved in the diabetes community, have high academic performance, participate in community and/or extracurricular activities, are leaders in their school and community and demonstrate they are successfully managing the challenges of living with type 1 diabetes. The David Law Firm donates the funds, requiring the recipients to be South Carolina residents with juvenile diabetes, entering as freshmen into college.
Attorney Byron David, a Type 1 diabetic himself, believes the scholarship greatly benefit the recipient. “I know, personally, the hardships of having Type 1 diabetes. The insulin, needles, glucose testers, test strips and pills are very costly.” says David. “I am honored to be able to help someone starting a new life chapter. I hope to remind younger Type 1 diabetics that they are not alone and can still be successful, despite the disease. I am proud of them for pursuing higher education and feel blessed to be able to help.”
The David Law Firm established the scholarships through the Diabetes Scholars Foundation, who process the applications and ultimately choose the recipients. “The Diabetes Scholars Foundation is a non-profit organization that creates a platform for funding scholarships for juvenile diabetics.” says David. “I trust their expertise and sophisticated systems in choosing a deserving recipient.”
The David Law Firm is located in downtown Conway and concentrates on three practice areas: Personal Injury (Automobile Accidents, Wrongful Death, etc.), Social Security Disability and Workers’ Compensation. Serving the Conway, Grand Strand and Pee Dee areas, The David Law Firm focuses on exceptional service and personal attention while delivering optimal results. Call for a free consultation at (843) 488-1415 or toll-free at (866) 751-1614.
Congratulations to all the diabetic scholarship recipients of 2015! A special shout-out to the recipients of The Davids’ Diabetes Scholarships: Crystal Bailey of Conway, South Carolina and Darec Longfellow of Graniteville, South Carolina. The David Law Firm will send Bailey a $2500 check to Francis Marion University and Longfellow a $2500 check to Clemson University.
The Davids’ Diabetes Scholarship was created to recognize students who are actively involved in the diabetes community, have high academic performance, participate in community and/or extracurricular activities, are leaders in their school and community and demonstrate they are successfully managing the challenges of living with type 1 diabetes.
Congratulations again to the recipients! Stay tuned for more details on The Davids’ Diabetes Scholarship recipients.
If you are out of work and entitled to weekly workers’ comp checks, you will be paid about 2/3 of your average weekly wage or salary. If you are in an unusual situation, this may be a little difficult to figure out. A few examples: working less than 52 weeks with the employer, working more than one job, a significant change in your salary. Some job situations are easy to calculate; some are not.
There is a maximum amount or limit that a person may be paid each week; this amount changes each year.
First and foremost, if you’ve been hurt on the job, call The David Law Firm (843-488-1415) immediately.
How do I report an on-the-job injury?
Report all injures at work to your employer immediately and request medical treatment, if needed. If you neglect to report the injury within 90 days of the accident you may lose your benefits. Although you must report the injury within 90 days, you have up to two years to file a claim for benefits. If a worker dies because of work-related injuries, the workers’ dependents, or parents if there are no dependents, must file a claim within two years of the death to claim benefits.
How do I file a claim?
You may personally file a claim if your employer does not report your accident, denies your injury by accident, or if you believe you did not receive all of your benefits. To file a claim you must submit a Form 50 or Form 52 to the Commission. If you are unable to download these forms, email the Commission’s Claims Department at email@example.com to request the forms be mailed to you. When filing a claim on a Form 50 or Form 52, mark the box 13a. which states, “I am filing a claim. I am not requesting a hearing at this time.”
What medical treatment am I entitled to receive?
You are entitled to all necessary medical treatment that is likely to lessen your disability. Workers’ compensation generally pays for surgery, hospitalization, medical supplies, prosthetic devices, and prescriptions. Keep in mind that in order to receive these benefits you must go to the doctor chosen by your employer or its insurance representative.
How is the compensation rate determined?
You are entitled to compensation at the rate of 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wage based on the four quarters prior to your injury, but no more than the maximum average weekly wage determined each year by the South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce. If you are working two or more jobs at the time of accident, those wages may be included as part of the average weekly wage and compensation rate.
Will I get compensated for missing time from work because of my injury?
There is a seven-day waiting period before benefits can be paid. If you are out of work for more than seven days, payments will come from your employer’s insurance representative. If you are out of work for more than 14 days, you will receive compensation even for the first seven days. You can expect payments to be made directly to you and these should continue until the doctor releases you to return to work.
When are my benefits terminated?
After the doctor releases you to return to work with or without restrictions, within 150 days of notification of the accident, you should receive two copies of Form 15 with Section II completed indicating that compensation has been stopped and for what reasons. If the insurance carrier stops your compensation, and if you disagree, complete Section III of the Form 15 and send it to the Commission’s Judicial Department. This is your way to request a hearing to be held in sixty days. If the doctor releases you to return to work after the 150-day notification period, your employer or insurance representative will ask you to sign a Form 17 (receipt of compensation) after you have been back to work for 15 days.
What if the doctor releases me to light duty?
You must accept light work if it is ordered. If you do not accept, all compensation may cease as long as you refuse to return to work. You have a right to a hearing if you believe that you are not able to do the work assigned to you. If you return to light work before you are fully discharged by the doctor at a wage less than you were earning at the time of your original injury, you are entitled to weekly compensation at the rate of 66 2/3% of the difference between your average weekly wage and your new wage.
What if I receive an impairment rating or have a scar?
When the doctor releases you with an impairment rating or if you have a non-surgical scar that can be seen at least eight feet away, the insurance carrier will request an informal conference/viewing. This is an opportunity for you to meet with a representative from the Commission and the insurance carrier to determine the amount of compensation due.
What is a hearing?
The workers’ compensation commissioners conduct a hearing to resolve disputes between you and your employer’s representative. You may apply for a hearing if your employer does not report your accident, denies your injury by accident, or if you believe that you did not receive all your benefits. You may download the Form 50 from the website to request a hearing, or obtain the Form 50 by contacting the Commission’s Judicial Department at firstname.lastname@example.org. Mark the box 13b. which states, “I am requesting a hearing.” A $25 fee is required.
Do I get reimbursed for my travel expenses when I go to the doctor?
Yes, if the round trip distance is more than ten miles from your home. Effective August 23, 2004, Commission approved allowance for trips to a pharmacy if the round trip distance is more than ten miles from your home. You should be reimbursed for the round trip mileage at the rate allowed state employees for mileage.
Can I get a second opinion if I am not happy with the doctor to whom the insurance carrier refers me?
You can talk to the insurance carrier and see if he or she will allow you to go to another doctor, or you can request a hearing by completing a Form 50 and have a Commissioner make a determination on the case.
Who sends me my weekly check?
Your employer is required to have workers’ compensation insurance if they have four or more employees and the insurance carrier will be responsible to pay compensation to you if you are out of work for more than seven days.