What Happens If I Was Hit By Another Driver Without Insurance?

Byron DavidSuppose you are driving home from work one day and are injured after being rear-ended while stopped at a light.  The other driver takes full responsibility for the crash and provides her insurance information.  You think the other driver’s insurance will cover the damage and your medical expenses.  Not so fast.  When you call the other driver’s insurance company, you learn that, in fact, the policy was cancelled a few months earlier.  The driver has no auto insurance.

Now what?  This is where your policy comes into play.  In South Carolina, every auto policy must include Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage.  The minimum amounts under South Carolina law are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident (regardless of the number of people injured), and $25,000 for property damage.

With this type of insurance, if you are injured by someone with no insurance (or in a “hit and run” accident) then YOUR OWN INSURANCE COMPANY steps into the shoes of the other driver, may defend the claim, and can pay the judgment, up to – and only up to – the limits of coverage you have purchased.

If you’ve been in an auto accident, call The David Law Firm (843-488-1415) to evaluate the insurance policies involved.

Advertisements

Posted on October 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: